More States Sign up for E-Verify

Table of Contents

Three more mandatory E-Verify measures will take effect on January 1, 2013 in North Carolina, Tennessee and Pennsylvania respectively. E-Verify is a web-based system employers can use to determine the employment eligibility of newly-hired workers.

The North Carolina measure will require all employers with 100 or more employees to use the E-Verify system to check the work authorization of new hires. As of July 1, that law will expand to mandate E-Verify use for employers with 25 or more employees.

In Tennessee, employers with six to 199 employees will be required to use the E-Verify system effective January 1. Until now, only businesses with 200 or more employees were required to use E-Verify in the Volunteer State.

Meanwhile, Pennsylvania’s Public Works Verification Act also takes effect New Year’s Day. The Act requires contractors and subcontractors on all public works projects to verify whether their workers are authorized to work in the US by using E-Verify.

Share this Post!
Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Join our subscribers list to receive updates regularly

Other Interesting Blog Posts

Speak to an HR Business Partner Today